Menu Home

Germany are World Cup 2014 Champions

Don’t read much into it, but it took 24 years from 1970 to 1994 for Brazil to repeat their World Cup championship. Then it took Italy 24 years between 1982 and 2006 to repeat their championship. So guess what? It took Germany 24 years between 1994 and 2014 to repeat their championship. Of course, it’s all coincidence, but it’s a neat coincidence.

Congratulations to the champs. They were the most complete team in Brazil this time, and they deserve to raise the trophy. Though Argentina had the best player in the tournament in Lionel Messi, Germany was just complete. They played well together and won fair and square.

Featured image is copyright Getty Images.

Categories: Blog

Tagged as:

René F. Najera, DrPH

I'm a Doctor of Public Health, having studied at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health.
All opinions are my own and in no way represent anyone else or any of the organizations for which I work.
About History of Vaccines: I am the editor of the History of Vaccines site, a project of the College of Physicians of Philadelphia. Please read the About page on the site for more information.
About Epidemiological: I am the sole contributor to Epidemiological, my personal blog to discuss all sorts of issues. It also has an About page you should check out.

%d bloggers like this: